Safety Footwear MisconceptionsPosted on 29th January 2019

There’s a lot of different information floating about regarding ‘Safety Footwear’, so we’ve got our team of highly trained experts to create a guide so you, the customer, can make an informed choice when choosing the correct footwear for the job.



All footwear that is known as ‘Workplace Footwear’ falls into one of three categories. These are known as.


  1. Occupational Footwear (Non-Safety) - EN ISO 20347
  2. Protective Footwear - EN ISO 20346
  3. Safety Footwear - EN ISO 20345


Now let’s start off by breaking down the misconceptions behind ‘Safety Footwear’. The term ‘Safety Footwear’ should only be used when referring to EN ISO 20345 products, and not as a generalised term for any footwear relating to PPE (Personal Protective Equipment). This is a very easy mistake to make, often due to communication errors or lack of understanding, which could lead to the incorrect PPE being used.


Within each of the three categories the footwear is then sub-categorised further into:


  1. Basic
  2. Level 1
  3. Level 2
  4. Level 3


We hope this has helped clear up some of the misconceptions and confusion around ‘Safety Footwear’. For any further information please contact our Technical Advisor Obe on or send us a message via the contact is page and a member of the team will answer your enquiry as soon as possible.

Follow, Like, Share

Check out our Social media